By-Elections in six states: Highlights of key candidates and contests

Voting Begins for By-Elections in Seven Assembly Seats Across Six States

Voting has commenced for by-elections in seven Assembly constituencies, spanning six states. The voting period, starting at 7:00 AM, will extend until 6:00 PM. Bypolls are being held in Ghosi (Uttar Pradesh), Bageshwar (Uttarakhand), Puthupally (Kerala), Dhanpur and Boxanagar (Tripura), Dhupguri (West Bengal), and Dumri (Jharkhand). Vote counting will occur on the 8th of this month.


  • These by-elections have political significance and will determine the fate of key constituencies.
  • Significant contestants and party changes make these elections closely watched.
By-Elections in Six States

Bypolls in Ghosi, Uttar Pradesh

In Uttar Pradesh, polling began for the by-election in the Ghosi assembly constituency of Mau district at 7:00 AM amid stringent security measures. Voting is taking place at 455 polling booths until 6:00 PM. The Election Commission has ensured security for a fair and peaceful election. Ten candidates are competing, with around 4.30 lakh voters making their choices today.


  • Notable contest between Dara Singh Chauhan (BJP) and Sudhakar Singh (Samajwadi Party).
  • Chauhan’s switch from Samajwadi Party to BJP adds intrigue.

Bypoll in Puthupally, Kerala

Voting commenced in the Puthupally Assembly constituency in Kottayam, Kerala, starting at 7:00 AM and concluding at 6:00 PM. Seven candidates are in the fray, with a significant contest between Chandy Oommen (UDF), Jake C Thomas (LDF), and Lijin Lal (NDA). This bypoll holds significance as it determines the successor to Oommen Chandy, the former Chief Minister and long-time representative of the constituency.


  • Succession of a political stalwart adds importance to this by-election.
  • One lakh 76,417 voters in Puthupally.

Bypoll in Bageshwar, Uttarakhand

Voting began at 7:00 AM for the Bageshwar assembly seat in Uttarakhand. There are 1,18,266 voters, with 172 polling stations (including 15 sensitive ones). Five candidates are participating, including Parvati Das (BJP), Basant Kumar (Congress), Bhagwati Prasad (SP), Arjun Kumar Dev (Uttarakhand Kranti Dal), and Bhagwati Kohli (Uttarakhand Parivartan Party). Voting continues until 5:00 PM, with 1,444 security personnel deployed for peaceful voting.


  • The election’s outcome will determine the representative for the Bageshwar constituency.
  • Sensitive polling stations require heightened security measures.

In all these by-elections, voters are playing a crucial role in shaping the political landscape of their respective states. The results will be eagerly awaited as they have far-reaching consequences for the represented constituencies and political parties involved.

Scroll to Top